FirstWorldWar.com — “The War to End All Wars”

I have decided to research the internet coverage of the First World War.  Upon “googling” “World War I,” one of the first Web sites that appear is the appropriately named FirstWorldWar.com.  It provides anything and everything a historian could ever need in regards to studying World War I (WWI.)  From what I can tell, the site is not managed or owned by a corporation; the simple by-line of Michael Duffy at the bottom suffices for a copyright.  It has two main menus; one taskbar at the top, and one down the right side.  Each link provides a channel to an integral part of World War I, from maps, to the Somme to audio recordings of songs, speeches and even video.  At the bottom, a nifty “Did you know” box changes (I am assuming) daily, providing the visitor with a quick factoid. 

 One of the most interesting options I found on the Web site was the encyclopedia.  I found this to be a very valuable and simple idea.  If you need to look up something specific about WWI and are not just browsing the site, you can simply click on the encylopedia link and it brings you right to an alphabetized listing of all terms, people, events, etc. related to the First World War.

Also, the “war on the web” provides the most valuable resource, I think, the Web site “First World War Links,” where I was able to find many of my other sources.

Published in: on January 30, 2007 at 11:26 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ashleyindc.wordpress.com/2007/01/30/firstworldwarcom-the-war-to-end-all-wars/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment